The Pumpernickle Pickle

Ramblings from a not-so-normal SAHM

Why I’m OK with my upcoming surgery August 22, 2007

Filed under: Family,gifts,health,home,kids,love,medical,nonsense,sick,Uncategorized — pinkadillies @ 5:31 pm

A lot of thought has gone into this surgery that I’m having (the date is Oct 4 for those who didn’t know). At first, I was at odds with it: I knew I needed it for health reasons but I wasn’t ready to face the fact that I wouldn’t have anymore children. I mean, Gary’s been fixed and I was fine with that but there has always been that tiny (1 in a million – but that’s still a chance, right?) possibility that we could have another one.

But here’s what I know: I know I hate (vehemently) being pregnant. I’m not, in general, a happy-go-lucky kinda gal. I am actually quite the bitch (Dolores Claiborne said it best: Sometimes being a bitch is all a woman’s got to hold on to). So add hormones and being constantly hungry to that and you have a me that NO ONE wants to be around. And I mean NO ONE. Even my doctor hated me. I also know that having Cordi took me out of remission and it took 3 years to get my health back under control and I am certain the hormones resulting from that pregnancy shaved years and years off my life (but she is SO worth it). I know I have 3 beautiful children and there are so many women who would give everything they have for just one. I know I’m blessed. I know I’m loved and I know my life is full.

But it is more than that. What I’m going to say now shouldn’t offend anyone – I don’t mean it as a judgement on those who have huge families or more than 3 kids. This is simply how I feel about MY situation.

I feel like if Gary and I were to make another child it would be selfish. There are WAY too many children out there without homes. Without loving parents. Without anything. I wouldn’t feel right putting another child out there when we could take one of these kids into our hearts and home. And that child would be just as much mine and just as loved as my birth-given children. Having another child myself would both take away that potential child’s would-be future and could very well end up taking my life. And who am I to let my own desires take me away from my children and husband? How guilty would Gary feel for getting me pregnant when we both knew the risks? I simply cannot do that.

And that’s why this surgery is a good thing. It’s a happy thing. And it will be 2 less things I ever have to worry about again 🙂

 

One Response to “Why I’m OK with my upcoming surgery”

  1. Lisa,
    I was excited to see the link to your blog on Stephen’s site. I can’t imagine everything you have been through. I can, however, imagine how you feel with the upcoming surgery. I have a 5 year old little girl. She is a miracle and such a blessing. We did infertility with her. When she was 2, I was 26, I had to have a hystorectomy. I felt like my husband would have hard feelings for not having more children. Also, Brianna now will not have the oppurtunity to have a sister or brother. I get on a soap box occationally. Brianna asks constantly why I can’t have a baby in my tummy. I still think that there is a child that will need a home and we will be ready!


Leave a Reply

