The Pumpernickle Pickle

Ramblings from a not-so-normal SAHM

867-5309 (or So It Begins) August 20, 2007

I knew it was coming. I knew it would happen eventually. I just didn’t think it would be so soon!

That’s right…my boys are being approached to become boyfriends.

Bergen got a note from a girl that included her address and phone number. She wants him to call her.

But it’s not just any girl.

This is the girl who’s daddy screamed sexual harrassment 2 years ago after Peter told someone he saw her panties when she was on the monkey bars. Keep in mind – they were in kindergarten AND she was wearing a mini skirt.

This is the girl who last year had to be separated from Bergen during recess because she wouldn’t quit kissing on him (which he did NOT enjoy).

So what does this mean for me? It means I have to go up to the school this afternoon and have yet another talk with the teacher. My only real concern here is a what if. What if Bergen rejects this girl and she tells her daddy that he did something to her? Her daddy is a big man. And I really was hoping to save my TV debut for a reality show that’s NOT Cops.

 

4 Responses to “867-5309 (or So It Begins)”

  1. it’s amazing how what we once t hought of as usual childhood innocence now seems to border on sexual harrassment. the world has changed an awful lot.

    perhaps you should contact the girl’s parents and chat with them. if they understand what is happening maybe your worst fear will cease to exist?
    sarah

  2. pinkadillies Says:

    Actually, I did just that. I called and talked to her mom today. I wanted to make sure that she knew 1)the girl was passing out the phone number (which turned out to be her mom’s cell #), 2)she was passing it out to boys and 3) she passed it out to MY boy.

    Turns out it’s okay with the mom as long as 1) we don’t allow him to call after 8 pm and 2) we call the house and not the cell.

    So Gary and I talked about it and decided that there are some guidelines to follow but that they can use the phone twice a week for no more than 10 minutes at a time. I think at 8 years old this is more than generous.

  3. Linda Says:

    LC (it’s me, Linda from the Divas/z groups!)

    I can totally feel for you. My daughter got mad at me, but I bought her bike-type shorts (trimmed with lace, of course) to wear under her skirts that don’t have the built-in shorts. I rarely buy skirts without those anymore, but family members do, so we have the bike shorts for cover. That family should have done that – you don’t send a kid to school in a skirt with panties….your son was just being a kid. Would a girl saying the same thing get a sexual harassment charge?

    Anyway – I love your blog (the colors are great!)

  4. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

